ALL-METRO Cross Country Team

All Metro XC Team

ALL-METRO Cross Country Team

Big River Running Company is excited to carry on the tradition of honoring the St. Louis area’s top high school cross country runners.

Each year, Big River Running facilitates a regional panel of cross country coaches who evaluate and choose outstanding cross country athletes to honor. Athletes are selected based on their season's accomplishments, their head-to-head finishes and weighing heavily, their placement/time at the state meet. The All-Metro Team also recognizes the region's top boys and girls teams.

The All-Metro teams are honored at a post-season banquet. This year's event will be held Sunday, January 22, 2023 at St. Louis University High School. Tickets to attend are available for purchase HERE. Congratulations to all cross country athletes who competed this past season and especially these outstanding runners who stood out in their achievements.


First Team

Josh Allison, Sr. - Hillsboro
Dylan Ybarra, Jr. - O’Fallon (IL)
Ian Schram, Sr. - Festus
Ethan Hogan, Jr. - Columbia (IL)
Luke Stevenson, Jr. - Pattonville
Jonah Allison, Sr. - Hillsboro
Lukas Groenewald, Sr. - Lafayette

Second Team 

Orville Mann, Sr. - Hillsboro
Eli Greenstreet, Jr. - O’Fallon (IL)
Jack Robeson, Jr. - Lafayette
Adam Snoke, Sr. - Lutheran South
Jackson Collman, Sr. - Civic Memorial (IL)
Zach Thoman, So. - O’Fallon (IL)
James Wortham, Sr. - St. Charles West

Honorable Mention

Sam Shipp, Sr. - Fox
Tim Greiner, Sr. - St. Louis University High
Joe Schwartz, Sr. - Waterloo

Boys All-Metro Team of the Year



First Team

Grace Tyson, Sr. - Lafayette
Julia Ray, Sr. - MICDS
Hannah Meiser, Sr. - Civic Memorial (IL)
Natalie Barnard, Jr. - Lafayette
Kaitlyn Hatley, Jr. - Father McGiveney (IL)
Josie Baker, Jr. - Kirkwood
Elissa Barnard, Sr. - Lafayette

Second Team 

Elena Rybak, So. - Father McGivney (IL)
Mary McKenzie, Fr. - Cor Jesu
Adrienne Luna, Sr. - Cor Jesu
Sophia Pelligreen, Sr. - Clayton
Caterina Rossomanno, So. - Rockwood Summit
Emily Nuttall, Sr. - Edwardsville (IL)
Reese McDevitt, So. - Francis Howell Central

Honorable Mention

Isabella Marcum, Sr. - Fox
Eris Nelson, Sr. - Althoff (IL)
Ellie Bush, Fr. - O’Fallon (IL)

Girls All-Metro Team of the Year



The tradition of the All-Metro Cross Country team dates back to 1993 when Dan Sebben and Tom Eckelman, then president of the St. Louis Track Club, started an event to honor high school runners.

1993 was the first year the Post-Dispatch decided not to do an all-metro team and Dan and Tom decided to do something about it. The St. Louis Track Club continued the tradition for 25 years, for which we are all extremely grateful.

In 2019, Big River Running took on the honor of celebrating our region's outstanding cross country athletes.

Past honorees from 1993 to present day can be found below. Enjoy a fun trip down memory lane with so many recognizable names that went on to be excellent college runners, all-americans, sub 4 milers, olympic trials qualifiers, olympians, entrepreneurs, Big River camp counselors, and great human beings.

Thank You

Selection Committee

  • Kyle Deeken - North Point High School
  • Mike Ebert - Marquette High School
  • Matt Helbig - Big River Running
  • George Patrylak - Edwardsville High School
  • Joe Porter - St. Louis University High School
  • Gina Woodard - Kirkwood High School